Scholarship Program

Applications become available December 1 and are due February 21, 2018.

The scholarship program is an important part of The Center’s mission enriching the education of students and educators through transformational arts experiences. Each year The Center awards local students and educators scholarships to further their education in the arts and humanities through five different types of scholarships. This scholarship program is made possible through funds raised at The Center’s Annual Wine Auction and private donations.

Additional Forms and Information

Scholarship Informational Pamphlet

Scholarship Requirements

Portfolio Advice

Financial Cover Page

Recommendation Form

For Teachers

The Educator Scholarship: This scholarship is for educators in the Wood River Valley who work in public or private schools teaching pre-K through 12th grade. Teachers can use scholarship funds to support formal professional development in visual arts, performing arts or humanities. Any funds awarded must be used within 12 months of being awarded.

Step 1: 2018 Educator Scholarship Guidelines

Step 2: 2018 Educator Application

If you are interested in taking a Center class for professional development, please email Sarah Stavros.

For College Students

The Gay V. Weake Scholarship: This scholarship is named after Gay V. Weake, a past Executive Director at the Sun Valley Center for the Arts and a great supporter of art education. The intention of this scholarship is to benefit students who are serious about pursuing the arts as their college major.

Step 1:  2018 Gay V Weake Guidelines

Step 2: 2018 Gay V. Weake Application

For High School Students

High School Arts and Humanities Scholarship: This scholarship is designed for Blaine County high school students currently enrolled in grades 9-12 looking to further their artistic pursuits in the visual arts, performing arts or humanities.

Step 1: 2018 High School Guidelines

Step 2: 2018 High School Application

Ezra Pound Scholarship: This scholarship is named for the renowned poet Ezra Pound who was born in Hailey, Idaho in 1885. Though Pound is best known for his literary legacy, his broad reach included the worlds of art, music and general intellectual inquiry. This award is given to a high school junior pursuing advanced study in the visual arts outside of the WR Valley during the summer before his or her senior year.

Step 1: 2018 Ezra Pound Guidelines

Step 2: 2018 Ezra Pound Application

Jack Thornton Memorial Scholarship for the Performing Arts: When Jack Thornton passed away in 2017, he left behind an incomparable legacy of support for this community and the arts that began more than three decades ago. During the course of his life, Jack’s philanthropy knew no bounds and he often quietly supported organizations and individuals with no fanfare or recognition. He was a visionary.  Jack’s love of music and lifetime learning were exemplified by his own pursuits and his ability to embrace life to the fullest. In honor of Jack Thornton’s support of Sun Valley Center for the Arts, The Board of Directors have begun a scholarship in his name to support a performing arts student. This award is given to either a  high school junior or senior pursuing advanced study in the performing arts outside of the Wood River Valley.

      Step 1: 2018 Jack Thornton Application Guidelines

      Step 2: 2018 Jack Thornton Memorial Scholarship for the Performing Arts

2017 Scholarship Reception Photo Gallery

2017 Scholarship Reception